Hello from Penang

Most recent on top…

Miami Beach, Penang

15.3.12

There are many things I wanted to know about Penang and Malaysia, and couldn’t find on the web.  This blog, will, I hope gradually cover these matters.

The blog also helps clear out my brain of things I think, so I can move on and think of other things.

2.3.12

I try to write a new blog every three days – e.g 3rd, 6th, 9th etc. of the month

I update previous blogs with new information, but often don’t really bother marking what the updates are.  Sometimes I might use italics to distinguish new material.

4.2.12

Now two thirds through “Blogging for Dummies”.

In the future I hope to cover:

  • Why retire to Malaysia
  • Buying a house, a condo or renting
  • Selling your tax-free car
  • Gardening in the tropics – aka – growing stuff on concrete under an unrelenting sun
  • A typical day for this tropical retiree
  • Local restaurants
  • The German invasion of Penang – the sudden proliferation of German restaurants in Penang this past few months
  • Living with (or hopefully without) mosquitoes
  • 20 pence per hour is too much for parking!!
  • To Singapore by train
  • To Bangkok by train
  • Attractions in Penang
  • Day trips from Penang
  • Walking in Penang for the non-suicidal
  • Couch surfing
  • Sunshine is good for you – sunscreens are not
  • Making your own… simple recipes for stuff that’s good for you
  • Tropical fruit smoothies – so nice you don’t even put vodka in them
  • Interviews with expats and others of interest
  • Expats who don’t speak English (or Bahasa, Hokkien, or Tamil)
  • Can you live without the Internet?

and some more esoteric topics

  • I threw away my walking stick and started running after I learnt Reiki
  • MMS and me
  • My guardian angel helps me park
  • Sungazing?  How’s that working out for you?
  • Past life regression – gee, you mean I wasn’t a pharaoh in a past life?

27.1.12

Hi.  I’m new to this blogging thing.  And I am only half way through “Blogging for Dummies”, so I’m planning to edit this page once I know what I am supposed to be doing.

Tropical Expat

Leave a Reply

