Kuala Lumpur International Motor Show – November 2013 (KLIMS)

If you are considering visiting the motor show – http://www.klims.com.my/– as I write this it is the last day, so it might be difficult.  But after my experience there a few days ago, I am definitely thinking of going again next year. This year it ran from November 15th – 24th, with weekday tickets costing RM15.

KLIMS November 2013

KLIMS November 2013

In September I visited the Frankfurt Motor Show, apparently the world’s biggest show, and I enjoyed it, but it was so crowded – much more so than my visit in 2009 – and so big that it took from opening around 9AM until 5PM to visit every hall.  For the last hall I visited, Audi, I had to queue for over 10 minutes. KLIMS is relatively small, with four halls, so my friend and I saw everything in about two and a half hours. And, perhaps because we started at opening time on a weekday, there were not hordes of people, and it was easy to see the cars.

There appears to be no canteen or cafe – very different from Frankfurt, where there are plenty of bars selling beer and sausages, food stalls selling all sorts of things, and cafes.

KLIMS lacked many exhibitors – Porsche, Mercedes, BMW, Jaguar, Aston Martin, Renault etc. – but these are way beyond the possibility of most purchasers here, including me, so it didn’t particularly worry me.  The makers who were represented tended to be the more affordable ones.

Most exhibitors followed the traditional concept of adorning their cars with sexily dressed girls, and it was often hard to photograph a car without the girl  – who then poses for you.  In Frankfurt this appears no longer acceptable, and most girls are dressed like office workers.  Compare this photo from the IAA in Frankfurt in September with this one at KLIMS.

IAA - Frankfurt 2013 - showgirl is in blue

IAA – Frankfurt 2013 – showgirl is in blue with VW

Showgirl and Ford at KLIMS

Showgirl and Ford at KLIMS

There is not so much else to say, so here are some photos.

They didn't actually do anything - just went up onto the stage

They didn’t actually do anything – just went up onto the stage

NS4

NS4

the mirror is an electronic camera, so you see the display on a screen in the cabin

NS4 – the mirror is an electronic camera, so you see the display on a screen in the cabin

concept car

concept car

Isuzu were very keen to explain their vehicles

Isuzu were very keen to explain their vehicles

There were a few lorries too - with an 11 litre engine!

There were a few lorries too – with an 11 litre engine!

and only a couple of Chinese manufacturers

and only a couple of Chinese manufacturers

and some colourful cars

and some colourful cars

including Hello Kitty cars

including Hello Kitty cars

Honda had a contest, and I thought once I reached 11,300 I'd beat my friend, so stopped - but he got 11,500!

Honda had a contest, and I thought once I reached 11,300 I’d beat my friend, so stopped – but he got 11,500!

I found this car interesting

I found this Honda interesting

the Honda's steering

the Honda’s steering

an electric shuttle bus

an electric shuttle bus

b

another Honda

between ssome halls you cross the river - it's quite nice

between some halls you cross the river – it’s quite nice

Proton were there

Perodua were there

and the escalator led up to the classic cars

and the escalator led up to the classic cars

many of these were for sale, but the price was not displayed

many of these were for sale, but the price was not displayed

nice!

nice!

not sure how you open the doors in a crowded car park

not sure how you open the doors in a crowded car park

Looks a bit like an Aston Martin - but is a Ford

Looks a bit like an Aston Martin – but is a Ford

20131119 (74)s

another Ford

yet another Ford

yet another Ford

and a somewhat earlier model Ford

and a somewhat earlier model Ford

A few of the exhibitors handed out show bags, and almost all had brochures, so a show bag was handy for carrying them.

Frankfurt is supposed to showcase new technologies, and this year there weren’t any major new ideas – it just seemed to show an evolution of previous ideas.  Before were petrol – hybrid vehicles, and now plug-in electric vehicles.

KLIMS didn’t really show anything major either, but it did show some fun concepts, cars within many people’s price range, it was a nice size, and not crowded so you could easily see the cars. I enjoyed it a lot.  Luckily I had two coffees just before I went in, so I survived the lack of cafes.

2 comments

  1. thanks for the pictures. seems the trend is to have huge front ends, with bumpers carrying grills and lights extending to the ground so that head on, they look like cat fish with gaping maws. i cant help thinking that if there is the slightest bump in the road, these front ends will hit it hard. i think they are ugly, but then i am not the target customer.

    1. Yes, I saw one car, but I didn’t photograph it, which took this to an extreme. There was about a 1/4″ road clearance at the front. You could only drive it on the smoothest of motorways – and it looked ridiculous.

Leave a Reply

