Malaysian National Anthem at the cinema

Before the feature film at the cinema starts there is usually 10 minutes or more of ads and movie shorts – the latter can be interesting, but I normally just browse my email during the former.  What took me by surprise the other day was they played the national anthem after the ads – requesting all to stand.  Perhaps that’s because Merderka Day (Independence Day) was recently celebrated, although I’d never come across that here before.  However, I can’t say I was keen on the video side – many militaristic images.

Malaysia has the Kuala Lumpur Foundation to Criminalise War and the The Kuala Lumpur War Crimes Commission, and so I would have hoped for better.

As John Lennon sang…

“Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…”

Leave a Reply

