Bird nesting in my mock orange tree

At the end of last month I noticed a bird’s nest on a mock orange tree in my roof garden. Only about shoulder height from the floor. No bird was in residence.

What is this in my tree?

What is this in my tree?

Ah...a bird nest

Ah…a bird nest

A few days later I noticed an egg.

with one egg

with one egg

Then a week later, two eggs.

now, a few days later - with two eggs

now, a few days later – with two eggs

After this I knew when the bird was in residence by her tail feathers sticking out of the nest a little.  A week later the chicks had hatched.

chicks have hatched

chicks have hatched

chicks have hatched

chicks have hatched

bird in residence

bird in residence

Many times I disturbed the bird when I went to look – she just flew on and hid. Once the birds were hatched she seemed less shy and would just wait higher up until I went away.  Mostly I tried to leave here alone. She is a cute bird.

muumy bird

muumy bird – it could be a yellow vented bulbul.

muumy bird nearby

muumy bird nearby

muumy bird is shy, and flies away from nest if I approach

mummy bird is shy, and flies away from nest if I approach – but not as far away as before – perhaps she is a little used to me being around

After a wet day yesterday, when mummy bird stayed in the nest a lot, today I find only one chick.  One egg was earlier than the other, so maybe one chick developed and has already left.

chick

chick

This chick is noisy.

chick

chick

So I wonder how long before this one is ready to fly. It seems to develop so fast.

chick

chick

Leave a Reply

