cutting mangoes

The way I learnt to cut mangoes is as follows:

Stand mango and cut from top down on one side of the seed, and then on the other side of the seed.

2015-02-10 10.42.16 (Copy)

You can peel and eat the small amount of mango that remains around the seed. Then cut through the flesh across and down, not pressing too hard so the skin remains uncut.

2015-02-10 10.43.03 (Copy)

Then press the middle of the bottom of the mango and the cubes you have created separate.

2015-02-10 10.43.15 (Copy)

I just then scoop the cubes out into a bowl and eat with some passion fruit and / or cream, if I have them.

Otherwise you can freeze the cubes if all your mangoes ripen at once.

3 comments

  1. I thought I invented this way of cutting mangoes. I watched people in the Philippines cutting them into three parallel slices and thought “there’s got to be a better way”.

    I’m with you on the passionfruit, Ian; I prefer coconut cream with mine; matter of fact, right now I’m eating mango with coconut cream.

    1. Hi Rod. I was skimming through the current issue of Wired UK magazine and they were saying in one article that many inventions were more or less simultaneously invented by several people. I can’t remember the examples. So, maybe you did.

      It’s been a long season, but in a few days I’ll even run out of my frozen passion fruit, after months of eating them almost every day.

      1. I remember that Leibniz and Pascal simultaneously developed calculus, and Röntgen and Tesla simultaneously developed X-Ray imaging.

        Eloise and I have just come back from France, Germany and Austria. Great trip.

Leave a Reply

