Growing stuff on hot concrete – gardening in tropical Penang – what’s growing in April 2015

Since I wrote last month it’s been raining almost every evening.  Most days, however have been sunny – so it’s been ideal. Unless you want to go out in the evening, that is. Still, I like it.

a visitor

a visitor

So, everything is happy and growing well – sunshine during the day and rain at night.

passion fruit growing on the fence

young passion fruit growing on the fence – 3 plants that I grew from seed

About the only other thing to report is that I wasn’t sure how to prune the passion fruit vines.  But I gave them a radical pruning at the end of the season.  Usually the fruiting season ends around the end of October, but because last year it continued to rain into January this year the vines continued to fruit until then.  So, I pruned in January quite radically – probably I cut back about half of the growth.  But I wasn’t sure whether I should cut back to the old wood, or leave some green wood and some leaves etc.  So I did a bit of both.

passion fruit pruned leaving some green wood

passion fruit pruned leaving some green wood

passion fruit pruned back to the old wood

passion fruit pruned back to the old wood

It looks to me like it’s better to prune back to green wood, but leave some green wood and growth on.

everywhere the plumbago is happy

everywhere the plumbago is happy

small limes are actually growing

small limes are actually growing

blue pea flowers are happy

blue pea flowers are happy

and the blue pea flowers are producing seed pods

and the blue pea flowers are producing seed pods

I open some of the seed pods and scatter the seeds around at the back – I am hoping they will be stronger than the weeds – they do compete with them quite well.

the papaya like all the water and are thriving

the papaya like all the water and are thriving

more plumbago

more plumbago

That’s it really. A quiet month.

 

 

Leave a Reply

