2015 trip around Bangladesh – 4/4 Srimangal to Dhaka

DAY 6 – SUNDAY

 

Bicycle shop

Bicycle shop

I rented bike for 300 at around 8am and rode across the railway tracks, but I couldn’t follow the Lonely Planet directions for bicycle routes. Never mind. I just rode around, and looked at tea plantations.

one of the main tea companies

one of the main tea companies

off the main road

off the main road

I had some breakfast and seven layer tea at a place I spotted – fully air-conditioned was attractive as I was hot.

this is actually opposite a five star resort hotel

this is actually opposite a five-star resort hotel

another delicious breakfast

another delicious breakfast

seven layer tea

seven layer tea

Continuing on I went a little into the national park a little, but I needed to get back to the hotel to have shower and check out before 12:00 so I started back.

washing

washing

After I checked out of the hotel I went to Noors for lunch, and later wandered down to my friend’s place and waited until he came a few minutes later.

We went by jeep to the seven layer tea place where we talked to some German NGO workers,

seven layer tea again

seven layer tea again

and then to the station, where the train was about 30 minutes late.

the train finally arrives

the train finally arrives

ordinary carriage

ordinary carriage

full carriage this time

full carriage this time

Every seat was taken in my carriage. This time all I could get was second class, so the windows open, but I had an aisle seat so it was hard to photograph anyway. And it was going to be dark in about an hour. The landscape was flat, with tea and rice plantations mainly, so nothing much to photograph. At around 8PM suddenly we had a plague of flying insects.  They didn’t bite, but they bothered us for around the next half hour to an hour.  Presumably these weren’t a problem in first class with the sealed windows.

The train got in to Dhaka after 11PM,  stopping first at the airport station on the way. I guess it was about 30 minutes from there to the main station.

ticket barrier at the station

ticket barrier at the station

All signs were in Bengali, and I didn’t feel like trying to work out the station, so I went to look for a hotel. With the traffic it was hard to cross the road – I was told there was a good hotel opposite the station, but I couldn’t find it. The first hotel I found was Tk600 for a fan room – but it was a miserable room. I went around the corner to the Hotel Tower. It was better.  Air-con, but no hot water. By the time I’d done the Internet and washing it was 2AM.

Hotel Tower

Hotel Tower

DAY 7 -MONDAY

I uploaded some photos – wifi was very good in this hotel. Breakfast next door was delicious.

restaurant

restaurant

dhal and paratha

dhal and paratha

Later I rang Mr I, and he picked me up and we drove around a bit, then went to his office and just hung around and chatted. We went to mall. And after dinner went out to the airport.

flying out of Dhaka

flying out of Dhaka

Some Details:
Bicycle hire – Tk300 per day or part thereof. You just pay the fee – no ID or deposit necessary. They are open from 7.30AM. You can find it on the right side of the road as you walk from the station towards the main Dhaka – Sylhet Road.

Sathrong Restaurant (seven colour tea) – Radhanagar, Bhanugach Road, Sreemangal – 01738980567. It’s about 4 or 5 KM from Sreemangal – an easy mostly flat bike ride.

Hotel Tower – Tk1500 with a-c. Cross the road from the station, turn right, and take the first corner left. It is on the left, about three or four minutes from the station. Not great, but OK if you arrive late at the station. 2/A Kobi Jashim Uddin Road, Kamlapur, Dhaka +88 01705 199840

5 comments

  1. what is the 7 layer tea like? i guess u drink it as it is , right? because if u stir it first it would defeat the purpose. what makes up the 7 layers? is it different teas? and can u really taste them individually? must take a lot of patience and time and skill to make the layers.

    1. Yes, correct, you drink it as it is. It is supposed to be different treas, but I didn’t notice much difference, except that it is sweeter as you drink it down – the last layer seemed to be liquid sugar. I should have asked if I could watch them making it.

      1. it would make a nice video to show how it is done, but i guess it is a trade secret and they wont want it known to everyone. if they have suger at the bottom, it would suggest that they want u to mix it all up. and the seven layers is just a presentation thing.
        i wonder if that is how the locals drink it? or is it only a gimmick for the tourists? perhaps mixed up the different teas make a big difference in the final taste. though if they add so much suger to it , it would not taste of anything else. ah well, as a gimmick it is quite good to attract customers.

      2. They might have let me watch, but I am not sure about a video. I think it is really for tourists. If you are ever in that part of the world their food it good there, too.

Leave a Reply

