Trip to Sri Lanka 03-4 – my account

Friday – day 6

20150731 (7) (Copy)

dawn over Dutch Bay, Trincomalee

Dawn was a little after six, and I saw the sun rise over Dutch Bay from the beach.

omlette breakfast at the hotel

omelette breakfast at the hotel

I probably shouldn’t ring hotels too early, so I waited until 7.30am.  There was a bus to Jaffna at 9.30,and one to Anuradhapura at 9.45, so either way I had plenty of time.  I got a room at London Palace, so 9.45 it was.  One should catch the bus from where it starts, and be the terminal at least 20 minutes early to secure a seat.  Standing would not be fun.  So about 9am, after my omelette, I set off to the bus terminal.

the bus to Anuradhapura

the bus to Anuradhapura

The bus picks up and drops off people all along the route, so sometimes the bus is packed, and other times there are seats free.  Right on time the bus departed.

the bay behind Trincomalee

the bay behind Trincomalee

still quite a way to go

still quite a way to go

quite varied scenery on the way

quite varied scenery on the way

We arrived in Anuradhapura at about 12.45, which was one hour early.

London Palace Hotel

London Palace Hotel

This turned out to be the nicest hotel I stayed at during the trip. After a shower and a meal I was ready to see the sights.

lunch at the hotel

lunch at the hotel

The tuk tuk driver at the bus station seemed OK; he had dropped me at the hotel. It was so hot I scrapped my plan to cycle around the sites, so I hired him to show them to me. It was supposed to be a three-hour tour, but I got him to stop off at the bus station to check schedules to Jaffna, and to a supermarket for some supplies, and thus get everything done in one go, so it was a bit longer.

photo are forbidden according to the much ignored signs

photos are forbidden according to the much ignored signs

well maintained stupa

well maintained stupa

Buddha in another temple

Buddha in another temple

elephant in another temple area

elephant in another temple area

huge stupa

huge stupa with monks

huge stupa

huge stupa

the world's oldest tree - continuously monitored for millenia

the world’s oldest tree – continuously monitored for millenia

The tour worked out well, and the half day I had in Anuradhapura was enough.

back at the hotel after a hard afternoon's sightseeing

back at the hotel after a hard afternoon’s sightseeing

At night I had to try to book a room in Jaffna, but being a holiday weekend it was almost impossible.  I ended up with a booking for a room with no air con and no bathroom for two nights, and then  better accommodation for the next two nights, following which I have a train reservation back to Colombo.

Leave a Reply

