Trip to Sri Lanka 03-5 – my account

Saturday – day 7

 I had given the previous day’s tuk tuk driver a good tip, so I was disappointed when he didn’t pick me up at 6am to take me to the bus station. There are three buses an hour to Vavuniya, so at worst I was delayed by 20 minutes as either the driver after I’d rung him, or the hotel owner soon had another tuk tuk take me to the terminal. Apparently there are no direct buses to Jaffna, so I had to get a Vavuniya – Jaffna bus later. This was no problem.
bus to Vavuniya

bus to Vavuniya

backpackers often put their luggage on that blue hump to the left of the driver - but in a crowded bus they can't keep an eye on it

backpackers often put their luggage on that blue hump to the left of the driver – but in a crowded bus they can’t keep an eye on it

crowded bus

crowded bus

scenery

scenery

Vavuniya

Vavuniya

the bus to Jaffna

the bus to Jaffna – these guys wanted me to photograph them

not so crowded

not so crowded now

getting closer

still quite a distance to go

Jaffna is on a peninsula

Jaffna is on a peninsula

We only had to stop for about three minutes for a police checkpoint as we entered the north. Just the conductor got out to deal with it.  About 11.30 we were at the Jaffna bus terminal.  It had taken five hours from Anuradhapura, which was OK.

at the Jaffna bus station

at the Jaffna bus station

As no one gives out maps, Google Maps has to suffice.  But my phone got no signal.  Panic.  I’d have to trust a tuk tuk driver?  A restart of the phone sorted it, and I had the Internet again, so I had a walking route to the hotel.  A tuk tuk was not suitable as I wanted to walk and see whatever hotels on the way had to offer, as the accommodation I’d booked was not at all enticing.

20150801 (70) (Copy)

clock tower

As it turned out, I found quite a lot of hotels, some were not worth considering, and others were way overpriced for what they are offering – and still I wouldn’t have wanted to stay there.  I detoured a bit on the way to see the railway station, check several hotels, and view a couple of churches, so the walk took over an hour.  So I had to use my booking, and it was as bad as I had dreaded.  Worse.  The outside bathrooms seem to have the water turned off in the evening, so a shower, or even washing one’s hands, is not possible. And I couldn’t hire a bicycle as I had intended.

hotel

guest house

Anyway, in the afternoon I saw pretty well all the local sights, even though I was walking.

one of the many ruined houses

one of the many ruined houses, as a result of the war

Seminary

Seminary

church

church

fisherman's area

fisherman’s area

clock tower

clock tower

one of the local papers

one of the local papers – which I read at the library

public library

public library

ruin of Dutch fort

ruin of Dutch fort

ruin of Dutch fort

ruin of Dutch fort

town market

town market

But in the late afternoon I also passed the Rolex Hotel, which is one of Lonely Planet’s recommended places to eat – so I did. It cost Rs280 for a chicken curry and a cup of tea.  I was enjoying the food until I felt a mosquito dining on me.  After that I couldn’t relax and eat, which was a shame.

Rolex restaurant

Rolex restaurant

my dinner

my dinner – delicious

3 comments

Leave a Reply

