this morning out and about in Malaysia

In the past an early visit to Tesco (they are open 0800 to 0100) for grocery shopping found much stock lacking, particularly in the fruit and vegetable section.  Thus we haven’t been shopping early.  At 8.30 this morning they actually were a pleasure to shop at.  Plenty of stock, no queues to weigh vegetables, no queues at the checkouts, and very few fellow shoppers  to dodge.  Oh, and easy to park, (in their woefully designed parking area.)

When we were at Tesco a couple of weeks ago we were accidentally overcharged, and we didn’t notice it until we got home.  Being RM24 it was not worth the petrol and time to make a special trip, but on showing the receipt today, Tesco refunded the amount with no fuss whatsoever.

I will normally walk down from Tesco to Straits Quays for Starbucks coffee, but as I didn’t have much time this morning, and only McDonalds was open, I bought a large coffee there, for RM4.20  Then I noticed that (until 11am) there are free refills.  In which case a small coffee for RM3.55 would have made sense.  I won’t eat their “food”, but I noticed that for RM5.50 you got coffee and a breakfast wrap, and for a little more, other choices. Chicken is so cheap in Malaysia that perhaps their chicken products are not made from floor scrapings, but nevertheless, I stuck to the not very good coffee.

Driving to Tesco at that early hour I was quite disappointed to find the traffic quite heavy, even though I was going in the opposite direction to George Town. Can’t wait for the new roads to be constructed and Penang’s ordinary streets returning to quiet peaceful places.

Anyway, while at McDonalds I read the local free newspaper, the Sun, and found a few interesting things.

the free daily

the free daily

 

I fell for it - I thought they meant water getting into the submarines

I fell for it – I thought they meant water getting into the submarines

 

This story has spread well. Can we also opt out of illegal and legal government surveillance?

This story has spread well. Can we also opt out of illegal and legal government surveillance?  After a previous terrorist attack France instituted total electronic surveillance of citizens.  This didn’t stop further attacks.  Which means that total surveillance should be dropped because it doesn’t work, and privacy should be restored.  Or that they knew about the attacks and let them go ahead.  Which means they are corrupt, and shouldn’t be doing the total surveillance on their citizens anyway.

 

KL seems bad, Penang not so bad, probably because of all the rain recently

KL seems bad, Penang not so bad, probably because of all the rain recently.

 

I liked this ad

I liked this ad

Leave a Reply

