Transiting Transnistria – Balkans trip anecdotes and photos

This blog mainly concentrates on providing information that will help in living or travelling in Malaysia.  However, I do blog a little about trips abroad.  On my recent trip to the Balkans I’ll do a series of short blogs providing one anecdote per country, and then a few assorted photos of the country unrelated to the anecdote.

“Transnistria, officially the Pridnestrovian Moldavian Republic, is a self-proclaimed republic on a strip of land between the River Dniester and the eastern Moldovan border with Ukraine, recognised only by three non-United Nations (UN) states.” Wikipedia.

I arrived in Chisinau Saturday mid-morning to discover that trains to Odessa ran only on weekends, and I’d already missed the Saturday train. So my plan became to catch the Sunday morning train to Odessa, and the afternoon one back.  Then on Monday to catch the bus to Tirapol, the capital of Transnistria.  However, on the Sunday morning train I discovered that the train actually ran through Transnistria on the way to Odessa, and that I could see much of it just by staying on the train.  In addition, I happened to be seated opposite a German guy from Dachau who had been there the previous day, and considered the visit a waste of time.  Besides, according to the guidebooks and also to my fellow traveller, a Transnistrian stamp in your passport, without the corresponding exit stamp from Moldova can cause problems with Moldovan border guards, because Moldova doesn’t recognise Transnistria as a sovereign nation.  Instead I took Monday off, resting in my rented flat, with a bit of wandering around Chisinau. I contented myself with my brief transit of Transnistria.

A FEW PHOTOS OF TRANSNISTRIA FROM THE TRAIN

20160925_transnistra-copy

the fort

the fort

their coins are made of plastic

their coins are made of plastic

20160925_transnistra-05-copy

20160925_transnistra-06-copy

20160925_transnistra-07-copy

20160925_transnistra-08-copy

20160925_transnistra-09-copy

20160925_transnistra-10-copy

Tirapol Station

Tirapol Station

20160925_transnistra-12-copy

20160925_transnistra-13-copy

20160925_transnistra-14-copy

20160925_transnistra-15-copy

20160925_transnistra-16-copy

And for me, I’d seen enough.

 

Leave a Reply

