Sunday in Serbia – Balkans trip anecdotes and photos

This blog mainly concentrates on providing information that will help in living or travelling in Malaysia. However, I do blog a little about trips abroad. On my recent trip to the Balkans I’ll do a series of short blogs providing one anecdote per country, and then a few assorted photos of the country unrelated to the anecdote.

1156940418

When you catch the train in to Belgrade from the direction of Bucharest the train terminates at Dunov Station.  This I knew.  But what I didn’t know was that there is no information, no ATMs, no shops, nowhere to buy a SIM – nothing.  And our loose-knit band of travellers who’d met on the train dispersed in different directions trying to solve these problems.  About five minutes walk away was a bank, and I got some cash.  Being Sunday, most shops were closed, and in the shops I found open I didn’t have any luck getting a SIM.  My map app doesn’t need a SIM, however, so I just walked in the direction of the main station, hoping at some stage to eat, and then catch a train.

Serbian countryside

Serbian countryside

 

the train at Dunov Station

the train at Dunov Station

arriving at the station

disembarking at the station

 

another frustrated tourist

another frustrated tourist

I was tired of walking, but I didn’t understand the bus system and no one spoke English.  I was hungry and thirsty.  I had no Internet access. A bathroom break would also be nice.  Virtually everything was closed.  And suddenly all my dreams (well, almost) came true. On my right I passed a particularly attractive looking street, and decided to investigate.

I notice an interesting street

I notice an interesting street

 

and decide to investigate it

and decide to investigate it

Further down, this street was packed with attractive looking restaurants with delicious looking food.  The sun came out and it was warm.

lot's of nice restaurants

lot’s of nice restaurants

 

lot's of nice restaurants

lot’s of nice restaurants

A nice meal, a beer, some WiFi browsing later I was fortified and on my way to the station with a spring in my step.  A short wait at the station at a platform cafe and a train departed for my destination of Novi Sad.  It all worked out really well.

I chose this restaurant

I chose this restaurant

 

ant I had the mixed starter - which was delicious and filled me up

ant I had the mixed starter – which was delicious and filled me up

SOME PHOTOS OF BUCHAREST AND SERBIA

A Belgrade park

A Belgrade park

 

Belgrade

Belgrade

 

Belgrade

Belgrade

Belgrade Station

Belgrade Station

 

Belgrade Station platforms

Belgrade Station platforms

 

Belgrade Station platform - having a beer

Belgrade Station platform – having a beer

 

Belgrade Station from the front

Belgrade Station from the front

 

Belgrade Station platforms

Belgrade Station platform – I’ve got to get through this beer before the train leaves

 

the train to Novi Sad

the train to Novi Sad

 

the train to Novi Sad

the train to Novi Sad

 

Novi Sad Station

Novi Sad Station

 

Novi Sad Station

Novi Sad Station

 

central Novi Sad

central Novi Sad

 

central Novi Sad square

central Novi Sad square

 

central Novi Sad

central Novi Sad

 

rude statue

rude statue

 

central Novi Sad

central Novi Sad

 

central Novi Sad

central Novi Sad

 

central Novi Sad square

central Novi Sad square, when it stopped raining for a couple of hours

 

Petrovaradin Fortress

Petrovaradin Fortress

 

Petrovaradin Fortress

Petrovaradin Fortress

 

view from Petrovaradin Fortress

view from Petrovaradin Fortress

 

view from Petrovaradin Fortress

view from Petrovaradin Fortress

Leave a Reply

