Ulcinj – I still can’t pronounce it – Balkans trip anecdotes and photos

This blog mainly concentrates on providing information that will help in living or travelling in Malaysia. However, I do blog a little about trips abroad. On my recent trip to the Balkans I’ll do a series of short blogs providing one anecdote per country, and then a few assorted photos of the country unrelated to the anecdote.

The guidebook recommended Ulcinj as a nice town on the coast of Montenegro, and the Hotel Haus Freiburg as a nice hotel to stay in.  So in the morning before I left Bar I rang and booked a room at the hotel for that night, which was a bit of a struggle linguistically.  From the name you can guess their aim is to attract German clientelle, and as it turns out this as the language I needed to communicate with them, too.   Once I arrived and realised that, not only did everything go more smoothly, I was happy that I got to practice my German.  The other time I got to use German was in Romania, when I was on the wrong train, and I needed advice from the conductor.  He was Romanian, of course, and didn’t speak English, but spoke German.   In both cases, their German was better than mine.  But Germans’ German is too much better than mine, and harder to understand.

A FEW PHOTOS IN BAR, THEN ULCINJ, THEN TO THE ALBANIAN BORDER

at first I thiought I had more Euros than I remebered - a 1100 euro note

at first I thought I had more Euros than I remembered – a 1100 euro note

church in Bar, Montenegro

church in Bar, Montenegro

church in Bar, Montenegro

church in Bar, Montenegro

church in Bar, Montenegro

church in Bar, Montenegro

bay from the hotel

bay from the hotel

hotel pool and hills behind

hotel pool and hills behind

marina in Bar

marina in Bar

church in Bar, Montenegro

church in Bar, Montenegro

Ulcinj, in the south of Montenegro

Ulcinj, in the south of Montenegro

Ulcinj

Ulcinj

Ulcinj

Ulcinj

hotel where I spoke German

hotel where I spoke German

hotel

hotel

my room

my room

pool

pool

pool

pool

beach at Ulcinj

beach at Ulcinj

beach at Ulcinj

beach at Ulcinj

20161005_montenegro-146-copy

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

sunset from the hotel

the owner gave me these delicious fruit

the owner gave me these delicious fruit

view from the hotel

view from the hotel

in Ulcinj

in Ulcinj

in Ulcinj

in Ulcinj

in Ulcinj

in Ulcinj

in Ulcinj

in Ulcinj

in Ulcinj

in Ulcinj

driving south to the Albanian border

driving south to the Albanian border

driving south to the Albanian border

driving south to the Albanian border

driving south to the Albanian border

driving south to the Albanian border

Albanian border post

Albanian border post

Leave a Reply

