Magnificent Macedonia – Balkans trip anecdotes and photos

This blog mainly concentrates on providing information that will help in living or travelling in Malaysia.  However, I do blog a little about trips abroad.  On my recent trip to the Balkans I’ll do a series of short blogs providing one anecdote per country, and then a few assorted photos of the country unrelated to the anecdote.

The last post in this series.

Macedonia was surprising – so many statues, monuments, and, apart from the trains, modern and functional.

20161014_macedonia-62-copy

Skopje, capital of Macedonia.  Could that be Alexander the Great?

Skopje

Skopje – Vardar River and the Opera House in the background

Skopje

Skopje – mosque

at the station

at the station

the beest train I caught in the Balkans - and the last

the best train I caught in the Balkans – and the last

park in Bitola

park in Bitola

Bitola

Bitola – my hotel on the left

Macedonian salad

In the hotel restaurant – Macedonian salad

lamb

lamb

moon

moon as seen from my hotel window

Heraclea - ancient ruins near Bitola

Heraclea – ancient ruins near Bitola

Heraclea - ancient ruins near Bitola

Heraclea – ancient ruins near Bitola

Bitola

Bitola at lunchtime

Church opposite my hotel

Church opposite my hotel

Church opposite my hotel

Church opposite my hotel

bus to

bus to Ohrid

in

in Ohrid

Lake

Lake Ohrid

e

Basilica

e

Basilica

c

Fortress

c

Fortress

c

Holy Mary

restaurant

restaurant Svete Sophia

restaurant

restaurant Svete Sophia

Macedonian salad

Macedonian salad

stwe

stew

dessert

dessert

statue

statue

another nice morning

another nice morning

I spotted a Yugo

I spotted a Yugo

bus back to Skopje

bus back to Skopje – it had WiFi

so that's how far it is

so that’s how far it is

through the mountains

through the mountains

a short walk in the forest

a short walk in the forest

back in Skopje

back in Skopje – St Clement

inside

inside St Clement

Skopje Airport - leaving the Balkans

Skopje Airport – leaving the Balkans

 

 

Leave a Reply

